Phoenix3

One meal a day

It’s often recommended by Buddhists and similar people to have 1 meal a day at noon, and many Daoists recommend this also, because that is when one’s body is most yang, and therefore probably most able to digest food.

Does having just one meal a day cause problems though? I’ve heard having one meal a day slows one’s metabolism and makes one fat. 

I have been eating only one meal a day for many years now.  I eat only after I have finished any physically active projects I had for the day.  That way my body can use all its energy for digestion.

I have no comparison to offer regarding eating only one or three meals a day.

My system hasn't killed me yet so I guess I can say it is working for me.

• Like 4
  • Thanks 2

You do see it popping up in a couple cultures.  I think in India it was considered a Royal approach.  Perhaps for its health or simply because it took discipline.  I was listening to a podcast by a U.S general who only ate once a day and felt it boosted his energy and gave him much more time. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

It’s actually suppose to be very good for you because it gives the system a break and your getting the added benefits of intermittent fasting. Look up the OMAD diet. The thing is you need to eat a lot for that one meal to make sure you get your daily requirement for calories. I’m extremely thin so it was too difficult for me to keep the weight on while trying to eat 2500+ calories at one sitting. 

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

My recommendation is this:

Try what suits you best. Maybe is 3 meals a day :D...and so be it. You eat 3 meals a day.

Don't follow what someone else is doing like a blind fearful sheep. 

FYI I eat two meals a day:

1. First large breakfast like a king; ie baked fish fillets + 2 steamed potatoes + 1 baked sweet potato + steamed broccoli + 1 piece of kiwi fruit. Time: between 6 and 7 am