chenplayer

Just got Gift of Tao I &II

So I just got my Gift of the Tao dvd's in the mail (thanks Yamu for all your help). I have never done any qigong before and have been practicing Taiji and some Bagua. I was just wondering if you guys have any tips before I start diving into these dvd's. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thank You all for your time!!!

-Rob

All the info is basically on the DVD's so rewatch till it all sinks in.

Also useful to remember Gift of the Tao goes hand in hand with the Stillness Movement system so that's worth looking in to.

I too am just getting into the Gift of the Tao 1, going at a snails pace but it gets a bit clearer every time i practice.

Best of luck :lol:

My recommendation would be to watch all of both DVDs and then focus on just GOT I for a while. I would suggest starting with just the first move of GOT I and do it until it requires no thought, then add the next move. The third move was a bit of a struggle for me, for some reason, but the next few instantly felt natural. I would add a move or two at a time rather than stumbling through the whole thing. In this way, you will reduce the amount of unlearning you have to do and you will find the moves build on each other energetically so it is a natural progression. Personally, I conclude every session with Salute to Master Wang, even when I was still learning the sequence and even when I intentionally do a partial set.

I would also recommend doing approximately equal amounts of GOT and S-M. (When asked whether it was best to do an hour of sitting Stillness-Movement, an hour of standing S-M or an hour of GOT, Ya Mu responded with something along the lines of, "Why not an hour of each?")

ALWAYS take the time to do the closing after doing S-M; it only takes a few minutes.