non local

A Student In The Abyss

I'm unsure as to exactly what the abyss is, though I believe I am currently a resident. Does one ever genuinely leave the abyss, or do they simply redecorate with things/shades of what was?

I feel like I've truly lost my soul, an anhedonic spell of sorts that has stretched out for years.

I began years ago with a retreat into solitude, to make better sense of the world around me and pinpoint the issue(s) giving me the most grief. I started with a diet change, volunteering and simple meditation. I went on with this for months in the isolation of what I call home. Eventually a change manifested, my life view had shifted and I felt better/"more positive". I went back out into the world smiling and ready to make a difference.

Months later I began to rapidly loose steam. The things I held to be good/bad, positive/negative didn't seem to be all that different afterall, the world around me all at once seemed beyond repair and any effort to better it futile. Maybe these sentiments wouldn't have weighed on me so heavily, had I not basically steamed my existence on helping/being of service to others- something I no longer believed in/didn't view as being possible. My safety net had been retracted and I fell into a dark pit, into the depths of despair.

I practiced less and less frequently, I started smoking cigarettes again off and on. I didn't care anymore. I didn't hold jobs very long, although I worked hard- it always came to a point where I realized I was working for nothing- I didn't want to live anymore. This kind of thing carried on for a few years.

I managed to find a qigong teacher on the internet, that was a flicker of hope, beginning the practices only to be banned from his forum for whatever reason (I was never told).

The cycle continued.