Maddie

Bumps on the Cultivation Path

I would appreciate wisdom and insight from those who have been doing this a while. I've been doing mindfullness for a few months now, and notice that sometimes afterwards all kinds of funky emotions and thoughts come up. I've been told this is "normal" but is there such a thing as doing too much mediation. Also are there ways to deal with challenging thoughts and feelings that come up in the process of meditation?

If you feel you can't handle what's happening, then you cut back. Otherwise you're fine. :)

You just need to let these thoughts and emotions pass through without attachment or aversion. What's happening is that your neutral watching is releasing repressed material. Keep watching neutrally and the mind will heal itself.

I strongly suggest reading 'the attention revolution' by Alan Wallace. It's very helpful and clear on the practice and stages of meditation.

Edited by Seeker of the Self
  • Like 1

I would appreciate wisdom and insight from those who have been doing this a while. I've been doing mindfullness for a few months now, and notice that sometimes afterwards all kinds of funky emotions and thoughts come up. I've been told this is "normal" but is there such a thing as doing too much mediation. Also are there ways to deal with challenging thoughts and feelings that come up in the process of meditation?

Maybe, it could be a good idea to start the practice with stabilization. This constitutes shamata.

Maybe, you can try this practice http://thetaobums.com/topic/26989-namo-amituofo-how-to-chant/ , which deals exactly with wandering thoughts. :)

Edited by DAO rain TAO

Generally the point of mindfulness meditation isn't to deal with anything, it is just to observe without interfering. If you are doing a more active form of meditation then in Buddhism there are antidotes to any afflictive states, such as meditating on love as an antidote to anger, meditating on disgust as an antidote to lust etc