Sign in to follow this  
samuel.savage

Fascinated by Taoism, slowly building discipline

Hey there! 

Really glad to find such a vital community for Daoism. I'm a practicing Yogi / Hindu, have been for many years. I discovered daoist concepts when I studied Ayurveda; I constantly heard people comparing and contrasting it with Traditional Chinese Medicine. Also, when I was learning Yoga, I heard people bring up 'dantiens' a lot. 

Personally, I like to keep the theory and jargon of the two systems separate. There are very notable differences between the two methodologies of internal cultivation, and I am utterly intrigued and fascinated by this 'new' system that I do not have much experience in. 

Right now I am practicing intermittent fasting (20:4), ketogenic diet (have been on it for 3 months), retrograde ejaculation (by pressing my hand on my perineum, have not mastered it yet), and Transcendental Meditation. 

I'm meditating 30 minutes a day, and bumping my practice up by a few minutes every week (I have mediocre discipline). My goal is multiple hours of daily practice. Transcendental Meditation can and should only take a certain portion of my morning and evening disciplines. I want to begin incorporating daoist methods of cultivation as soon as I can muster a few more minutes into my routine. 

What practice would you guys recommend for a newcomer to daojiao? Perhaps something to do with cleansing meridians? Or would it wise to begin by 'building up the Jing in the lower dantien'? I know what a dantien is, and I know the difference between Jing, Qi, Shen. But I do not know what do develop first, or how that development takes place.

I am vaguely familiar with ideas such as micro / macro cosmic orbit, Tao te', original jing, etc. I have spent about five years already immersed in the Hindu system of esotericism, so it shouldn't be extroardinarily difficult for me to intellectually understand these new Daoist concepts. 

Humbly, I look for assistance! 

• Like 2