Sign in to follow this  
Manaus

Fatigue from short sessions of zhan zhuang

Hello,

I've been practicing ZZ for 9 months regularly following the instructions in Way of Energy by Lam Kam Chuen.

I built up the hold time slowly, bringing it to 12 min in the 'hold the tree' position. Recently for an accident I had to stop that particular posture. What happens now is that even after shorter times (8 minutes) I feel very fatigued, and it lasts hours. Feel like sleeping and weak and cannot even think. It was never easy anyway.

I don't know if I have to go beyond (8 minutes could be a really short time) or keep myself in the 'comfort zone'.

In the book Lam Kam Chuen advises to 'relax' in case of fainting. But also "[in case of poor health] Do not force yourself to hold positions that cause you pain or exhaust you."

Note that fatigue has been a major issue in my life even before starting practicing.

Thanks for any suggestion

I recommend you see a professional healer. PM me if you'd like a couple sources. 

Edited by OldChi
  • Like 1

Hello,

I've been practicing ZZ for 9 months regularly following the instructions in Way of Energy by Lam Kam Chuen.

I built up the hold time slowly, bringing it to 12 min in the 'hold the tree' position. Recently for an accident I had to stop that particular posture. What happens now is that even after shorter times (8 minutes) I feel very fatigued, and it lasts hours. Feel like sleeping and weak and cannot even think. It was never easy anyway.

I don't know if I have to go beyond (8 minutes could be a really short time) or keep myself in the 'comfort zone'.

In the book Lam Kam Chuen advises to 'relax' in case of fainting. But also "[in case of poor health] Do not force yourself to hold positions that cause you pain or exhaust you."

Note that fatigue has been a major issue in my life even before starting practicing.

Thanks for any suggestion

Hi Manaus,