Pietro

Effect of cold bath on the body

In the gym, here at the Uni there is a 5-person jacuzzi. It is quite something. Now just next to it, on a small room 3 tanks of freezing water are kept. I mean, freezing with ice floating on it. Really cold!

The university has some serious athlets over here. People who actually go to the olimpics, were in japan just this summer, and so on. Well, what many of the athlets over here do is, after training they would get their legs (they are runners) in the ice water. Up to the beginning of the belly (ouch), stay there for a few minutes, then come for a few minutes in the warm jacuzzi (they make the water all cold, aargh!). Then go back to the cold water, and so on. They do it three times, and after the third cold bath they don't come back in the jacuzzi.

I am no chinese doctor, but this just does not sounds right. I mean what has their kidneys done to them to be punished in that way?

They say it is done for the muscle, as it helps dissipate the "acido lattico" that gets formed.

Anyone here knows what is the official position from chinese medicine on this practice?

Many thanks,

Pietro

I understand that Boxers also use this technique so there must be something in it.

If anyone can explain it properly I may incorporate it into my training.

The exiled Ron Jeremy praised the practice of cold water immersion up to the navel (but not above that) for the stimulation of sperm power and hormone release.

It's a common practice amongst athletes.

Contrast showers are popular on dragondoor.com

That's all I know.

My mother-in-law has been a winter swimmer for many years (and still is, in her 70s). She would immerse completely in a hole in the ice in a frozen lake, just like that, no jacuzzi, no running, no athletics of any kind. The practice is well-known in Russia and there's a special name for people doing that, the Walruses. (When John Lennon sang "I am the Walrus" he obviously didn't know what he was talking about! :D )