CarsonZi

Intention

Namaste Friends,

I am new to TheTaoBums forum and I hope it is not too intrusive to start new threads this early in my TTB's "career". ;) haha

This forum is very interesting to me as I have only ever engaged in one other forum (The AYP forum) and that forum is pretty much dedicated to one system. Here it is much different. So many people practicing so many different systems. So my question to all of you is simple.....What is your intention (what are you trying to achieve/not achieve) when engaging in the practice of meditation? (whatever meditation means to you)

Wishing you all peace and contentment.

Love,

Carson :D

Guest sykkelpump

Hello,I have done many types of meditation.My goal is always to quiet the mind.get an empty mind

Welcome! No need to worry about posting too much, you're in good company if you do :)

Meditation can mean a lot of things to a lot of people so here's my personal definition:

Being in a state free from holding on to, pushing away, judging, and 'accumulating'.

The goal not just having an empty mind but having the right condition (free mind) to experience Truth/Reality with absolutely no conditioning - in all honesty - just to see if it can be done and to see what happens.

Is it not enough just to DO meditation, or is it necessary to do it with Intention? Does Intention not lead to potential disappointment should there be no obvious fruits of your labor then?

Love,

Is it not enough just to DO meditation, or is it necessary to do it with Intention? Does Intention not lead to potential disappointment should there be no obvious fruits of your labor then?

Love,

Intention implies an obvious goal so I see your point there... it creates a constant comparison with the desired state - "I'm getting closer/further from my goal".