watercourseway

a whole bunch o' newbie questions

hello al. i am relatively new to taoism and i have a couple of newbie questions. i came across something called "tsowang," or 'sitting in forgetfulness." can anyone tell me more about this and what the origins are? is this a taoist or confucian meditation? is this the same thing as shikantaza? is shikantaza basically the japanese version of sitting in fogetfulness or like what dogen means when he said "dropping off of body and mind?" some taoists don't study internal alchemy? is wu wei the most important concept in taoism? and lastly, is the taoist concept of emptiness the same as the buddhist concept of emptiness (heart sutra form is emptiness, emptiness is form)? sorry to be a burden with all these questions and i appreciate any responses!

thank you :)

hello al. i am relatively new to taoism and i have a couple of newbie questions. i came across something called "tsowang," or 'sitting in forgetfulness." can anyone tell me more about this and what the origins are? is this a taoist or confucian meditation? is this the same thing as shikantaza? is shikantaza basically the japanese version of sitting in fogetfulness or like what dogen means when he said "dropping off of body and mind?" some taoists don't study internal alchemy? is wu wei the most important concept in taoism? and lastly, is the taoist concept of emptiness the same as the buddhist concept of emptiness (heart sutra form is emptiness, emptiness is form)? sorry to be a burden with all these questions and i appreciate any responses!

thank you :)

No burden at all, and in fact a newbie with questions is a lot more refreshing than a newbie with answers, which is a more common deal :D !

I'll tackle what I can, perhaps others will chime in.