Unlearner

What is this feeling?

Allow me to provide a little bit of background on myself before I get to the main issue. I was raised as a Catholic for the first 18 years of my life, and while I do appreciate some of the values that it instilled in me now, eventually I found myself not agreeing with many of the core beliefs that it preached, and I decided to part with it to find a way that suited me. Primarily, I was focused in the sciences, especially physics; I majored in physics and math when I went to college, though I never finished for personal reasons (though I do plan on returning this fall to complete my degree). Currently, I have a job as a type of explosives technician, though I do not forsee myself staying with this as a career (although it still keeps me involved with some chemistry and physics).

Unlike most of my fellow science enthusiasts, however, I also take an avid interest in the philosophies that accompany my studies of the way of the universe. I was first exposed to Taoism and Buddhism about 5 years ago, and while it took some time for me to take a real interest in it, I have since begun studying them with less whimsical curiosity and more actual interest in following them. I, personally, find that they tend to flow quite nicely with each other, something that I was rather astounded to see when I first came to this realization. Coincidentally, around this time I found a book called "The Tao of Physics" by Fritjof Capra, which seemed to support so many things that I had been thinking for so long, yet prior to which I had no way of sharing these ideas with anyone I would know.