Sign in to follow this  
Ron Goninan

Your Views Please

I learn from ever person I come in contact with. I don't have all the answers and would never be as so presumptuous to ascribe that I do so I'd appreciate it if you would cast your eye over the following Youtube footage of myself and my guys and let me know what you think warts and all!!! I want to hear your good views (Naturally ) but also your bad views ... Why? Because this is one way in which I can improve myself and others.

Promo

Weapons:

Tai Chi Dao:

• Like 1

well, I'm no martial artist nowadays...but one thing I noticed is that, especially in the promo video, the form has a lot of energy reversals. Instead of following the action-direction with a flow that uses the energy to make a continuous circuit, it uses back-n-forth, which is inefficient because you actually have to fight yourself to re-activate the energy wheel. See that move where you do a sort of sweeping kick, land and do a return kick (around 00:08)? This creates a place where there is a pause and you then have to fight your own energy to come back in your kick. It looks nice, but seems to waste your own energy on yourself, whereas if you designed it so that your own energy took you somewhere else effortlessly you could maintain the energy-momentum and spiral it into something else far more deadly by adding to it, instead of subtracting from it....like bagua circle-stuff. from an aesthetics point of view I like it...it looks nice and snaky. I understand that you use the rebound or bounce energy to activate your come back...but I have seen forms that have almost no rebound/bounce moves and they seem faster, and also less predictable...you can almost tell that that second kick is coming...its one thing if you are chambering your kick, but landing and then forcing a new kick from the same leg leaves that split second in between where a person who is aware can use that space to plan/counter/etc. Is this your own personal form, or traditional