jacklantegi

Specific problem sitting in the lotus posture.

Hi everyone! There have been many enlightening discussions on how to gradually train your body to be able to sit in the full lotus posture.

I have been performing a rigorous daily stretching program for almost 2 months now and I have made pretty good progress.

However, my biggest issue is that I cannot full flex (extend) my ankles. Most people can do this without a problem, but I was born without this ability.

I have incorporated ankle stretches into my program, but I am not seeing any progress in terms of ankle flexibility at all! I am starting to worry that this may be an anatomical abnormality that I have, and not just regular stiffness.

I have read in many places such as here http://zenmontpellier.voila.net/eng/lotus/lotuseng.html (Scroll down to figure. 13) that it is very bad to attempt the lotus or half lotus position without having your ankles fully flexed as it adds a lot of stress on the knee joint. And I can attest to that! Although through all the practice I have done, I am now able to sit in half-lotus relatively easily, after sitting in this posture for a while (anywhere from 15-45 minutes), my knees are in excruciating pain when I get out of the posture and it takes a few minutes before I'm able to walk.

So what should I do? If it's not a good idea to practice the lotus position because of my ankles, how can I practice it at all? Should I just continue working on all my stretches and simply leave out actually sitting in the posture until my ankles become more loose?

It really really sucks, because after having sat in the posture, I can really attest to the numerous tangible benefits it has had on my meditations, and now I will have to give that up. :(