Sign in to follow this  
hagar

The Dao of Honesty

I've been through some ethical and practical dilemmas lately that surrounds the topic of honesty.

Some that life's goal is honesty, and being spontaneously honest is a sign of integrating practice in everyday life. Others hold a view that prudence and tact is the best way to avoid conflict at the cost of peace and serenity, and staying out of trouble.

In my own experience, there's honesty and there's honesty. How does it feel to tell a white lie? Does it damage our integrity?

I've had some very humbling experiences with trying to be diplomatic but seeing it backfire, and some very tough consequences of talking straight from the gut.

In any case, honesty has very much to do with being centered.

It truly has been one of my life's big challenges: Being afraid of hurting someone else's feelings or, at the other side of the spectrum, being honest towards myself.

What's the Taobum consesus on the matter?

h

Just of the top of my head...

I think it is possible to be acutely honest in describing your own experience without hurting anyone. Because if you do that right you can show that no-one else is responsible for your experience and so they cannot reasonably be offended.

I think if you try to be honest about anything else you don't have access to enough truth for honesty to exist. Then it goes wrong.

Does that help? I doubt it.... :D

This is a tough topic...

From experience I try not to give my honest opinions too much... better keep silent UNTIL it is about life-saving aspects... then be honest however the result might be...

sometimes total honesty hurts people... if you are honest because the circumstance makes it necessary without the intent ot hurt the other the only hurt that is done to them is what they inflict upon themselves...

besides: what do you girls and guys think about cheating in exams etc.

with Smiles

Harry