Sign in to follow this  
wenwu

how much should a teacher give

ok so after 4 years with my bagua teacher i have the feeling that i am grinding to a halt in my progress, this is partly to do with the time i have to trainin has been cut down a lot (i am currently working two jobs that cover my morning and evening but i try to get stuff done any chance i get)

also it seems that my teacher has stopped teaching me things, i work hard on the techniquies i have and when i asked him about it he replied that it was time to work on my 'zi gong' or personal skill. i.e. i have to make bagua my own. just i don't feel like i have enough

has anyone else had this same sort of experience, what did you do about it?

hi

as a teacher i can say that most students never put the work in to warrant much more teaching beyond the first few years. they really just need to spend some years getting good at the basics. my most senoir student is quite good now, but i dont feel the need to teach him new skills at present. he is working on the basics as am i. as for making the art your own, that depends on the meaning. the skills must become part of you. i like to say you dont do taiji , you become taiji. it is a mental and physical change that has to happen. after that change then higher skills can be played with. that said i really just work on my stance and my meditation, just beginers stuff.

metta

adam

ok so after 4 years with my bagua teacher i have the feeling that i am grinding to a halt in my progress, this is partly to do with the time i have to trainin has been cut down a lot (i am currently working two jobs that cover my morning and evening but i try to get stuff done any chance i get)

also it seems that my teacher has stopped teaching me things, i work hard on the techniquies i have and when i asked him about it he replied that it was time to work on my 'zi gong' or personal skill. i.e. i have to make bagua my own. just i don't feel like i have enough