Taoway

chinese landscape paintings?

Any fellow bums have a love for eastern art? The music and art in china to begin with literally put me in the clouds! Would love to talk and conect with some people who have a love for it.

I have been practicing landscapes on rice paper for a few years so id love to share them.

• Like 4

Please, share.

I enjoy painting, and I enjoy Chinese landscapes... though I've never attempted to paint one myself.

• Like 2

I like many forms of east asian arts, including chinese landscape paintings.

Though my father is a painter i have very little skill in the field and don't really practice an form of art myself, hopefully this will change in the future, now I am so focused on other things though. There is so much in life.

Please share your paintings, culture is best when shared.

Edited by leth
  • Like 2

I also love Chinese landscape paintings. Here's some interesting quotes on them I figured would be worth sharing since it relates them to Daoism.

From John Blofeld's book on Daoism:

Into these dragon veins pours down yang ch'i
(cosmic vitality) to mingle with the yin ch'i (vitality of earth).
Invisible to the ordinary eye, these veins can be detected by men
learned in the science of yin and yang. This concept is clearly
reflected in Chinese landscape painting, in which the veins are
delineated as great sweeping curves marked at their source by the
contours of the clouds, then by the undulations of mountains and
hills, and finally by the meanderings of rivers or some other landscape
features. Gazing at these paintings or at actual views in the
more scenic parts of the globe, one can almost feel the power
streaming downwards and impregnating the surroundings with
vibrant energy.

There are other ways in which paintings convey Taoist concepts
more directly than verbal description, especially the idea that the
entire cosmos is formed of spirit. The voidness of the· non-void is