Sign in to follow this  
Flolfolil

It might be that the solution doesn't fit with what they think the solution is.

Some people are also looking for care and kindness and someone to listen.

Do you want me to suggest something to you?

The problem = "hey dude my leg is so messed up i might be fired from my job because i can't walk. I went to the doctor and got some drugs that help with pain but they aren't working"

My solution = "maybe you should try stretching or some form of super gentle exercise"

Their response = totally ignoring that i said that

Yes i would like you to suggest something :) Go right ahead!

You're going to laugh (maybe:-)) but I would just suggest to listen to what their complaint is, and then ask the person 'Do you want me to suggest something?'. You can offer your level of expertise too. In the above, 'Do you want me to suggest something? I'm not a doctor' (this only works if you're NOT a doctor;-))

Chances are, they might admit to 'thanks man, I just needed to vent'.

Being the person people are always venting to is a different issue. Also seems from your following post that you're relying on them for friendship. I could suggest something. But I'm not a counsellor;-)

So I'll just share from my experience of it. I'll assume for expediency and typing you want to hear it but IRL I would still make sure you want to hear it.

I don't care if people don't take my advice - anymore. I did use to care, a LOT because I thought showing them I cared would get them to care about me...and other weird ideas.

Tons of people in my life (some excluded of course, they know who they are) do nothing but complain to me about their problems but when i offer help they basically laugh at me or just flat out ignore me. Why feel bad about something but not do something about it? i just don't get it....

and this very thing happens right here on TTB all the time.

i dont get it either, but it doesnt matter

maybe they are just venting idk

• Like 1