Sign in to follow this  
Baldwin

Getting started...

Hi guys,

I'm new to Taoism, only becoming interested in it in the past month or two, and I'm struggling to get a foothold on meditational techniques etc. When I've looked into it there's so much information and unfamiliar terminology that I've got a bit lost! I did some meditation from the Barefoot Doctor CDs but then heard there's rumours of him being a fraud, so am disinclined to continue in that endeavour.

Could anyone please point me in the right direction?

Hi guys,

I'm new to Taoism, only becoming interested in it in the past month or two, and I'm struggling to get a foothold on meditational techniques etc. When I've looked into it there's so much information and unfamiliar terminology that I've got a bit lost! I did some meditation from the Barefoot Doctor CDs but then heard there's rumours of him being a fraud, so am disinclined to continue in that endeavour.

I would suggest starting with very relaxed belly breathing, some stillness meditation and some very simple qigong with a downwards flavour. And a certain amount of time considering exactly what you hope to achieve, as that will likely be your main basis for further decisions.

Good luck. As a general rule, see if you want to be like someone or not before you do what they're doing. :)

Hi guys,

Hello welcome to taobums!

The terminology and the theory in taoism is not at all clear and are not easy to understund if you not are an expert. To learn theory is one thing and to learn practises is another. They can possible go hand in hand also :) .