Sign in to follow this  
Maddie

Sutras as a practice

I have recently begun as a practice listening to sutras being read on youtube. I have a lot of experience with meditation, mantras, and even reading sutras to learn them, but listing to them deliberately as a practice is new to me. I have found that I feel very fidgety while listening and I also feel like it is digging up old stuff to be dealt with. 

What I would like to know is if anyone is familiar with or has experience with this type of practice and could possibly offer any insight into the practice and its effects.   

• Like 1

Reading sutras alone--sutrayana--is a very profound practice in of itself.

What I've read recently was the difference with tantrayana and sutrayana is here: https://www.padmasambhava.org/2018/03/distinctions-between-the-sutrayana-and-vajrayana/

“There are many explanations on why the Vajrayana teachings are more direct and detailed than those of the Sutrayana, and these explanations can be categorized as “very detailed,” “medium-detailed,” and “condensed.” One very detailed teaching on the distinctive and special qualities of the Vajrayana in relation to the Sutrayana was given by Buddha Shakyamuni in the Inner Tantra known as Dechok Rali in Tibetan, or the Chakrasamvara Tantra in Sanskrit. This tantra explains that the Sutrayana teachings of the Shravakayana do not include complete pith instructions on the true nature, whereas the Vajrayana includes them completely. Therefore, the Vajrayana teachings are considered to be more detailed.