Sign in to follow this  
ordoabchao

New to Taoist Cultivation

Hi all,

Im relatively new to the whole esoteric Taoism + neidan cultivation practices but I've always had an interesting in philisophical Taoism ever since I read the Tao Te Ching in high school.  I've always self-identified as a Taoist philisophically but until now I've not explored what it means to live life according to those principles in a conscious way.

Some background on me --

- I practice westernized Vinyasa Yoga 5 days a week, and have been for about 2.5 years.

- My introduction to esoteric Taoism/neidan cultivation started with Mantak Chia's book "The Multi Orgasmic Man".  I also have his book "Awakening Healing Energy Through the Tao".  I don't follow the practices to the letter but rather just take the parts that work for me, like the microcosmic orbit and inner smile meditation.

Why I'm here --

- I've reached a point in my neidan cultivation where I don't think books and videos will cut it anymore.  I want to meet other practitioners and ultimately a master/sifu who can guide me in my practice so I don't hurt myself or needlessly waste my efforts.

- Yesterday I experienced what I believe to be a "kundalini awakening".  At the point where the energy reached the crown of my head I began to experience a disintegration of my ego into a larger consciousness, but I pulled back from it by bringing the energy back down the functional/front channel of the microcosmic orbit.  I feel normal again today but im left wondering what path I should continue to take in this journey of spiritual development.

Thanks all and I hope to become a contributing part of your community. 

• Like 2

Hello and welcome to the forum. You are accepted. Glad to have you as a member and we look forward to reading your contributions.

Please take the time to read the two posts pinned at the top of this Welcome page and take a look at the forum terms and rules. This covers all you need to know when getting started.