Sign in to follow this  
uroburro

Michael Leger (uroburro) intro

Hi All,

I am currently studying Healing Tao and Pan Gu Shengong practices. I attended the HT Chi Kung fundamentals (1-4) retreat last summer, and am working my way through the HT Fusion 1 CDs now. I will be going to SanFran in December to study with Master Ou, Wen Wei. I have recently started the PGSG moving form, and am reading the Path of Life book. I have read the Pan Gu Mystical Qigong book, and will be re-reading it (thanks Michael Udel, your posts triggered something inside me). I am also starting to work my way through the scholarly books; I recently finished James Miller's Daoism, An Introduction, and am reading Livia Kohn's The Taoist Experience: An Anthology.

I started studying martial arts in '73; Judo -> Shotokan Karate -> Taekwondo ->Wing Chun Kung fu, then in '78, Tai Chi. The Tai Chi form I learned was described as a blend of Yang and Wu. I learned it from Larry Anderson in Chicago. The lineage, which was not Larry's thing, was described as Da Liu (maybe) -> Robert Cheng -> Larry Anderson. The form is one of the classical versions: 108 move one person form, a short 2 person push hands form, a 48 move 2 person 'San so', and a Sword form. I studied these forms intensely for 8 years, devoting the majority of my time during that period to study, while working just enough to barely pay my bills.

During my Tai Chi days, I thought I had all the answers, and was extremely dogmatic in my approach to Life. The birth of my daughter changed all that, and taught me far more about Life than I had learned in my ascetic days. I realized that I had been insisting on living Life on my terms, rather than on Its terms. This turned out to be a long and painful lesson.