ronp

Advice / Opinions

hi all,

i am interested in cultivating a practice. i am new to chi kung, nei kung, kunlun etc., etc., from an experiential viewpoint although not new to energy work or taoism from an intellectual viewpoint. realizing that "book learning" is substantially different from "direct experience" i seek the advice of those that have what i do not.

as an aside, i have studied taoism, buddhism, hinduism, shamanism, sufism, zen, gurdjieff, advaita, kashmir tantra, etc. etc. etc., for the past 35 + years.

i am most interested in the health and well-being benefits. i am not necessarily interested in martial arts applications or in acquiring any siddhi's (although i am not adverse to either - just not my focus or intention).

i am 57 years old and live most of each year in france, but also live in the los angeles area a few months each year as well. i am what i call "retired without an income" which means that when i can find work, i work at whatever i can find. it also means that i have plenty of time to devote to "cultivation" - not a lot of expendable income but always a lot of time.

i was recently drawn to nei kung and then through researching that, i stumbled on kunlun. i have the opportunity to work with james borrelli who teaches the nei kung system of master c.k. chu from new york. and then there is the draw of working with this teacher max who i see just announced a new kunlun weekend in los angeles on feb 5,6 and 7.

i have ordered the nei kung system book of c.k. chu and the kunlun book of max's - although neither have arrived yet so i really don't have clue one on either - just know that i am interested. and since i will be returning to france at the very beginning of march, time seems to be "of the essence" to get something started.