Sign in to follow this  
C11

Dangerous practices with mental issues?

Hi,

For starters: I'm a newbie. My apologies if I don't use the correct words or terminology. I've read a lot on this forum, but, to be honest, the amount of information and discussion between different paths is overwhelming. 

I'm currently 35 years old and I had a pretty rough life with different mental challenges. I was never hospitalized, but had plenty of therapy for depression, trauma, anxiety and 2 periodes of psychosis. At the moment, I'm actually doing pretty well. I'm not the happiest person on earth, but it's not a depression anymore and the psychosis is a long time ago. I have not taken any psychiatric medication for the last year. Anxiety and trauma will always be a part of my life, but I can handle that. 

A big part of me getting better was using different practices to relaxe and to get more out of my head. Meditation, yoga and following Qi Gong videos on youtube were a really big part of that. Because they gave me so much benefits, I want to examine these things further now and take it more serious. 

However, there seems to be a lot of warnings on the internet about for example doing Qi Gong when you have a history of mental issues. There are lots of horror stories about Qi deviations or kundalini awakenings gone wrong.

But I don't know how serious I have to take these warnings... So, I would like to ask the people on here what their stance on this is? 

• Like 1

increases in energy require increases in proper use and grounding...and there is that saying that 'the higher one goes the further they can fall"  That is why we hear so much about having a qualified teacher to mitigate or prevent such back-firings which can get really hairy...

1 hour ago, C11 said:

Hi,