Geof Nanto

Forget the soap, just wash with water.

That’s how I’ve been washing my hands and showering for over 20 years. I started washing that way because it felt more in harmony with my body’s needs and my environment. It increasing felt to me as if excessive washing of any sort, and especially using soap, was damaging my body’s protective qi. I also do dish washing by simply rinsing under running water.

No soap works well for me within the semi-wilderness environment in which I live, but obviously urban dwellers will have different needs. I don’t usually mention it because washing with soap is one of our culture’s most basic hygiene mantras. Hence, I was pleased to read this article explaining the importance of skin bacteria:

https://www.abc.net.au/news/health/2021-08-07/covid-19-hand-hygiene-washing-skin-microbiome/100296570

[Incidentally, the article is from Australian Broadcasting Commission (abc) which is the Australian equivalent of the BBC. It’s not related in any way to the American ABC network.]  

• Like 3
  • Thanks 2

When I lived in the bush in East Africa, the villagers still went to town to buy a lot of soap to wash themselves, as they don't use toilet paper when going into the pits. They are very hygienic and don't want to wash with just water. So I don't think I'd just wash with water alone, regardless of skin bacteria. 

• Like 2

55 minutes ago, Earl Grey said:

When I lived in the bush in East Africa, the villagers still went to town to buy a lot of soap to wash themselves, as they don't use toilet paper when going into the pits. They are very hygienic and don't want to wash with just water. So I don't think I'd just wash with water alone, regardless of skin bacteria. 

What I wrote is something that works well for me. If anyone finds it useful, great. If not, it’s not something I want to push onto other people. 

• Like 1

34 minutes ago, Yueya said: