Sign in to follow this  
Bhathen

Where to concentrate in qigong?

Hi all,

I have been doing Ba Duan Jin for a few months now for better health.

Would like to know where to concentrate, because thoughts seem to be flying towards the breath

or the internal parts

or the qi

or the movements

or the external environment? 

Very difficult not to focus on anything also. 

It all depends on who you learned it from and what variation you know--there are many variations of Baduanjin. Some say focus on breathing, some say just do the exercise as it's not a mental focus practice. 

In the several variations I have learned, breathing with the movements is the only focus and is done lightly. 

• Like 1

Posted (edited)

Thanks @Earl Grey.

Have decided to read The root of Chinese qigong, before asking more questions.

Edited by Bhathen

Hey @Bhathen

Maybe take a step back and remember that movement practices are designed as a way to re-unite our mind and bodies - to integrate us, to make us whole again. What is it that is never whole ? The Mind. It needs a focus, something to chew on. The ares of focus you listed are all potentially good, because it's better for the mind to chew on the body, then to chew on itself. 

Be careful how you chew though. If the chew the body too hard, your Qi will simply rise to the head the whole time. There is a difference between subtly doing something and applying your mind too intently. Applying the mind too strongly is like looking at the Sun with eyes open. You're a performer, you're wielding strong intent. You have expectations and you know what you want. There is a hunter and the prey.  Doing something gently is like looking at the Moon to remember the presence of the Sun. You don't stare directly at your body, at least not intently, but you still know it's there, because you feel its gentle caress, in subtle ways. It's like you take the body along for a ride, but you don't impose anything on it. Whatever will be, will be.