yuuichi

Why do we fall in love, or have romantic affection to people of the opposite sex?

I think the best modern science has to offer to explain why someone can fall in love with someone of the opposite sex (or someone of the same gender for a few people) is that for some unexplained reason, looking at an attractive person causes a sudden increase in dopamine in the brain, causing attachment to that person. The more one gets to know that person, the more the hormone oxytocin increases, increasing feelings of love and affection for that person. Of course there are a few more variables involved, but that seems to be the general idea (though I’m not an expert).

Since the causes and general process of falling in love still is generally unknown to modern science (from what I’m aware), maybe philosophical and traditional ideas (like the Daoist understanding of qi and the human body) can give a better explanation?

However, what a lot of traditional ideas seem to forget is that a lot of people fall in love without meeting in person. I’m expecting a lot of people to say (i’m assuming) that there is a mysterious exchange in male and female qi, and this causes the feeling of love. But a man can just look at a photo of a very attractive woman and by the time of interacting with her online, or even by just looking at her photo, a man can feel a strong romantic feeling towards that particular woman. There is obviously no exchange of qi, but the man still started to develop romantic feelings for that woman. That’s just an example, but I wrote it to show it can’t just be as simple as some mysterious exhange of male and female qi when a man and woman are in close proximity.

• Like 3