Sign in to follow this  
searcher7977

Hello from a searcher

I'm posting because I'm interested in reading the Flying Phoenix thread, but I'm not sure I'm able to until I get some sort of approval. However, I would also like to try and participate in the community if I am able to.

I am a 27 year old guy, and I've been a student of the path since I was about 13, starting with with Brad Warner's Hardcore Zen and Shunryu Suzuki's Beginner's Mind. 95% of my practice has been reading and meditating on my own. 

What brings me here, aside from access to super secret Flying Phoenix techniques, is that recently I have begun struggling so much at work and at home with concentration and loss of will power (among other...phenomena), that I have devoted almost all my free time towards some sort of awakening or liberation. I think I spent too much time trying to cultivate stillness and made some errors, because I kept getting worse and worse until all of a sudden I could not seem to sit and meditate for even 5 minutes, let alone the 30 minutes or sometimes 2 hours i had in the past. 

So, here I am trying to find some way of unfu-...healing myself and trying to figure out where the hell is the peace or bliss or happiness or strength or whatever it is that any of these practices are supposed to help with. 

Also, thank you to this site and community, you are one of the few genuine places I've found and trust online. Hopefully I too can contribute and help others grow.

-Searcher
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1

Hello,  Searcher7977,  and welcome.

Your membership is approved and we're happy you found your way to us. We look forward to accompanying you on some of the way that you still have to go.

Please take the time to read the post pinned at the top of this Welcome page and take a look at the forum Terms and Rules.   This covers all you need to know when getting started.