Marblehead

Mair 17:4

Kungsun Lung inquired of Prince Mou of Wei, saying, "When I was young I studied the Way of the former kings, and when I grew up I understood the conduct of humaneness and righteousness.  I joined sameness and difference, separated hardness from whiteness, asserted the unassertable, and affirmed the unaffirmable.  I perplexed the thinkers of the hundred schools and refuted the disputers of the manifold persuasions.  I considered myself to be ultimately accomplished.  But now I have heard the words of Master Chuang and am bewildered by their oddity.  I don't know whether it's because my powers of discussion are not up to his or because my knowledge is less than his.  Now I feel that I can't even make a peep.  I venture to ask what strategy I should adopt."

Prince Mou leaned against his table and heaved a great sigh.  Then he looked up to heaven and, smiling, said, "Haven't you heard about the frog in the broken-down well?  'I really enjoy myself here!' it said to a turtle of the Eastern Sea.  'If I want to go out, I jump along the railing around the well, then I come back and rest where the brick lining is missing from the wall.  I enter the water till it comes up to my armpits and supports my chin.  When I slop through the mud, it covers my feet and buries my toes.  Turning around, I see crayfish and tadpoles, but none of them is a match for me.  Furthermore, I have sole possession of all the water in this hole and straddle all the joy in this broken down well.  This is the ultimate!  Why don't you drop in some time, sir, and see for yourself?'