11 posts in this topic

I recently recorded myself doing zhan zhuang to analyze my session. Playing the video at about 4x speed, I can see a lot of movement in the lower back (I am moving the shoulders as well, but those more intentionally), which somewhat resembles nauli kriya to me :lol:. When doing zhan zhuang I can feel myself stretching the spine, creating more space between the vertebrae, and I usually think of breathing into my upper back. 

One question I have is whether in the practice of zhan zhuang such movements are desirable or whether more stillness is desirable instead. Any other feedback is welcomed. 

My answer might not be the best, as I'm self taught, but because I am, I have to deal with questions like this all the time and this is how I'd go about it.

Simply try to stand with more stillness next time and see what happens.

ZZ is a bit strange as the kinaesthetic feedback loop where your body tells you if you're doing the right thing does not always work as effectively as in other practices, but if that's all you have, then that's what you've got to work with.

So, just see how it goes. From my own experience, I know that after 15 minutes of standing I can find myself stretching my back off slightly for a short while. Also, as my pelvis relaxes, I might straighten out my feet a bit. Then near the end, in order to push myself a bit, I'll move my centre of gravity to the balls of my feet which activate my calf muscles more.

2 people thank this