SriChi

Dan Harden's Bodywork

OK, just back from Dan Harden's seminar.

First, you must understand that I have zero martial arts experience.

So, Dan is working with internal power. This is not Qi that he is talking about. At least not in the ways Qigong refers to Qi, or the way I understand it :)

This system is based on biotensegrity and the network of fascial meridians (Anatomy Trains, he recommends as a good reference), and using the model of the Heaven-Earth-Man (or more accurately Heaven-Man-Earth). This is not a new system as Dan repeatedly points out.

So, the art is about practicing control over these fascia to achieve internal balance. Everything is spirals and circles :)

It is a subtle art, so reading or even watching videos won't help. And, I don't say that to sound exclusive lol. If you see some of the basic, practice exercises, you'll think they are just standing in wu chi. But, the internal mechanics is different.

Dan invites all of us to feel the power generated, and how he is moving the fascia internally. He is a very down-to-earth, very approachable guy. And, I really admire his no-nonsense approach to this. There are no secret doors, no hoops to jump through.

Dan himself comes from a Judo/MMA background. And, from the various disciplines that I saw at the seminar (Aikido, Karate, Yang Tai Chi, I-Liq-Chuan), and from what I actually experienced working with him, what he has got is legit.

For example, it was a surreal feeling to have a bigger guy than me trying and struggling to lift my elbows. :ph34r:

You can check the testimonials page - http://www.bodyworkseminars.org/testimonials.html - to maybe get a better idea of what he does. They all generally say that Dan's wok improves their individual martial arts. And, I can see how. Dan says his system is plug-n-play, because this system is not anything new, and he doesn't own it. It is just the way your body works.