Sign in to follow this  
寒月 Hanyue

Chinese Medical Translator Needs Help...

A sad state of affairs indeed.

My wife who has studied with Sabine speaks highly of her;

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/nurt ... e-medicine

Donations can be made to her cause and are rewarded with her time, or with publications.

It isn't for everyone, granted.

--
"My name is Sabine Wilms, and I am a writer, teacher, and translator, in addition to applying the spirit of "nurturing life" as a happy goat farmer in my time off. I recently founded Happy Goat Productions as a platform to facilitate the translation, teaching, and book production work that is the focus of my professional life. Ever since my PhD dissertation on medieval Chinese gynecology, I have found great pleasure in making the wisdom from the ancient classical writings on Chinese medicine (defined here as the art of harmonizing the microcosm of the human body with the macrocosm of the universe) accessible to modern Chinese medicine practitioners and others. I firmly believe that these texts on "nurturing life" (yang sheng 養生) have much to teach us today and that there is an urgency in getting their message in front of a larger audience.

I love to translate classical Chinese. I am one of a handful of people in the world with the obscure skill to read, understand, and communicate classical Chinese medical literature into modern English. Except for rare circumstances, I don't get paid to produce such translations, especially book-length texts, which can take literally thousands of hours and years of research to complete. I do it because I believe in the importance of this work and because of the response I receive from practitioners who apply their insights in their medical practices and personal lives. I am an idealistic academic and a writer, and I just want to see my work out there, available to anybody who wants or needs it.