ALA

How novices can learn about Qigong and Taoism?

Hello,

Can anyone recommend the best way/resources to learn about Taoism and Qigong in particular?

I did my research and I came up with:

1. “The healing promise of Qi” by Roger Jahnke. Although the book does not engross me.

2 “The root of Chinese Qigong” by Yang Jwing-Ming. Once I am done with this one I will continue with his other more advanced books. How are his videos?

3. Daniel Reid’s books. Which one is good to start with?

Are they good choices? Anything else? Any good websites?

I have tried to read some topics on the forum but it is mostly over my head. I have not seen anything for novices. Is there anything for complete beginners here on the forum?

Thank you for your help.

Daniel Reid's Book: A Complete Guide To Chi Gong(氣功) is a very good book for information about Chi Gong but it does not have a good method of Chi Gong to learn it on your own. Btw I have this book and used many times as reference.

You should get the book and read it to get an idea what Chi Gong is all about before you go into practicing it. Also, there is no need to be in a hurry to learn about Taoism. Just do one thing at a time.

FYI....
Daniel Reid practice western medicine as a doctor. He has very good knowledge about TCM. He married a Taiwanese woman which helped him to translate the Chi Gong information from Chinese to English. In addition, he used modern science in relation to explain the traditional Chinese concepts. When I was reading his English book, it seems as I was reading it in Chinese. It comes that close. I think he did a good job in the translation.

Edited by ChiDragon