[New Member]

Hello everyone here at TheTaoBums.com,

I've been very interested in QiGong, Tai Chi, and the Taoist arts for several years now, and as I enter my 20th year of life, I've decided to become more serious in my practice. Any help, tips, and/or guidance from anyone is greatly appreciated.

Last night I spent a couple of hours debating with my father about the existance of Qi. He's a very strong Catholic, so the idea of Qi sounds like mystic mumbo-jumbo to him, though anyone who can belive in something as mystical as GOD shouldn't be putting off the idea of Qi just because it sounds like a mysterious force. I'm hoping to one day be able to prove to him that Qi is real and can be expirienced, but that's not why I'm studying. I study Taoism as a way to better myself, and increase my health which has over the years been very erratic, and so I hope to find a way to stablize and strengthen it and prehaps teach my friends a little about it also that they may benefit from it as well.

I look forward to learning a lot from this site and everyone on it and if I can be of any help to anyone(which at my present level, I don't see happening) I will humbly offer what I can.

I look forward to learning a lot from this site and everyone on it and if I can be of any help to anyone(which at my present level, I don't see happening) I will humbly offer what I can.

Welcome, you six digit number, you!

Don't worry about levels - get stuck in! I'm twice your age and haven't worked out how to get the lift doors open yet! :rolleyes:

Peace,

ZenB

There's some suggestive biblical references to Qi:

Ruach - The Spirit of God

The Catholic Creed recited at every Mass states that God created things 'seen and unseen', so qigong is merely working with the unseen. :)

Edited by rex

Many in my family are fundamental Christian, I was raised fundamental Christian - so I understand your position.