Sign in to follow this  
Meridian_Man

Introduction

Hello All.

I've considered joining a Taoist community for some time. It seems that in the United States there aren't many like minded individuals walking around that you can bounce ideas off of.

Finding this message board is very encouraging for me.

I'll give you a quick run down on how I came to Taoism. Like most other Americans I was raised in the Christian church. Unfortunately, I always seemed at odds. I won't go into details because I'm pretty sure most of you know what I'm talking about here. But it is as Alan Watts said in the way of Zen. [paraphrasing here] When social dogma is interwoven with religion something terrible happens when a man finds himself at odds with the dogma. He can either deny his nature or question the root of his existence. As if teenage years weren't hard enough. Well, I'm in my 30's now and I can honestly say that I'm still not really past it.

Somewhere along the line a man that I studied art under took mercy on me. I was given a copy of 'The Tao of Pooh' when I was a teenager. I suppose it planted a seed. For the first time I found something that made sense. Something that nobody had to convince me of.

I do not talk to my family about it much. I've largely been ostracized. My sister actively shielded me from her children for 20 years. I do not even know my nieces and nephews. And my wife is also extremely frustrated. Again, I do not talk to her much about it.

She knows that I use the book of changes and occasionally asks me about it. She knows that I make life decisions based on my beliefs.

Long have I tried to consolidate my faith with my upbringing but it seems no use. I thought here, perhaps, I could find some encouragement. Maybe others struggle with the same thing. I honestly don't know.