stefos

Te Tao Ching...Theistic? A linguistic challenge...

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this sub-forum so please understand that I am VERY ignorant about the Te Tao Ching.

I have Stephen Hendricks books which contain the Te Tao Ching in translations from the 2 archaeological finds from southwest and northern China respectively.

So, My question is this:

I've been keeping an eye out for linguistic similarities in various cultures, in particular the use of the the word "God."

In the following languages, God or a divine being is described as follows:

Theos (Greek) God.....Theia (Greek) Goddess

Deus (Latin) God

Deva (Sanskrit) God (divine being similar to an angel)

Shang Di/Ti (Chinese) God

Te (Aztec) God....Tenochtitlan....Teotl....etc.

Could it be that the Te Tao Ching is actually a Theistic work?

I have also noticed that "reuniting" with this consciousness/a state of being outside of space/time is THE main thrust of the Te Tao Ching and not creating elixirs giving a long life span...If I'm right of course. Western Alchemy echos the same sentiment as well.

Please comment!

Thank you!

Stefos

• Like 1

Hi Stefos,

Well, for a newbee you sure do ask challenging questions. Hehehe.

Fair question though. My response will present only my perspective and understanding.

Could it be that the Te Tao Ching is actually a Theistic work?

I have also noticed that "reuniting" with this consciousness/a state of being outside of space/time is THE main thrust of the Te Tao Ching and not creating elixirs giving a long life span...If I'm right of course. Western Alchemy echos the same sentiment as well.

IMO, the TTC is a philosophical essay. It contains guidance by which, if followed, will make one's life a little easier to live and enjoy.

Yes, within the TTC there are the roots of Alchemic (Shamanistic) Taoism.

Yes, within the TTC there are the roots of Religious Taoism.