Sign in to follow this  
Axe

Flying Phoenix, Chi Kung for Health Qs

I started the FP standing meditations a few weeks ago. I don't feel soreness at the end now, so I've been thinking about doing more than the 5 minute "absolute minimum". The thought of having to go without the video (except for the warmup) has been holding me back I guess.

Increasing the time for the static meditations is simple, but what about the other two practices? Should we go even slower? Is it actually the case that we can go much much slower than in the video? Do we actually increase the repetitions for Bending the Bows, and even for Wind Above the Clouds?

I just started the seated meditations today. Would it lead to imbalance if I did more standing and only followed the video for the seated ones (need the sitting video as I'm still learning them).

Oh I just remembered an important question. Are the sitting meditations just done right after doing the standing meditations?

Is it good/necessary to do closing after FP practice? From another thread, I'm using this video: mZOqPwSl2EE&feature

What do we do in "Standing Still and Looking Backward"? Do we move the eyes maximum left and right several times trying to look back, or try to visualize we are standing 180 opposite, or just try to visualize what's behind us?

Edited by Axe

Oh, I just found an answer to whether the seated meditations are just done after the standing ones while searching (I tried searching before, didn't just go ahead and read the Flying Phoenix Chi Kung thread as it is too long). It seems that it doesn't matter. Still I'd like to know if it is ideal to do them right after. Concerning this and otherwise, is it the case that the standing meditations are more for building chi and the seated ones are more for circulating it? This is important to me as I think I would be doing the seated ones more because of semen retention (I just heard that (maybe) standing meditations in general are for increasing chi).

Hi Sifu Dunn,