Apech

Dumbing Down University

Made me laugh ...

... think about people who say things you don't like on DaoBums and apply ...

• Like 5

And if you want to know exactly what, where, when, how and why ? We have come to this.

• Like 1

Made me laugh ...

Ha ha ha ha!

ROFFLMFAO!

He didn't talk directly about books burning did he?

Idiotic Taoist all ready to step in where angels fear to tread and kumbayahing going on in maximum volume in orgy of wankfest

John Taylor Gatto has a book online called the secret history of education in america that is really interesting -- it was free when I read it. The first eight chapters get you to the point of total paranoia -- it's a bigger picture than anything today. I found it interesting because in every chapter I felt like, what the heck does this have to do with the topic, and then by the end of the chapter I felt like WOW... I didn't know. 

It's not a pretty picture.

I work in the edu publishing industry. Talk about everything politically correct. Nutrition has not only been killing the west since the late 70s and that Bright Idea of the government, but it will continue doing so for a century at this rate because the stuff that was actually BS in 1981 is still in textbooks teaching the people who will be doctors, nurses, and nutritionists (what the stupid people in high school do for careers: nutrition and HR) in another 5 or even 10 years.

Some topics don't have a lot of room for either PC or idiocy though. Chemistry is still pretty difficult up close. 

• Like 3

Made me laugh ...

The truth he speaks makes it a bit hard to laugh but it does make me glad I stuck it out for that dual-major in puppetry & basket-weaving.

My question would be did we import this cultural inanity from you or did you import it from us?

The truth he speaks makes it a bit hard to laugh but it does make me glad I stuck it out for that dual-major in puppetry & basket-weaving.