23 replies to this topic

#1 sketchbo0k

sketchbo0k

Dao Bum

• The Dao Bums
  • Pip
  • 25 posts

Posted 10 November 2015 - 10:44 PM

I recently started practicing Baguazhang. My Sifu is no joke, he's the real deal he demonstrated Baguazhang on 5 of his best students and none could even touch him, but there is a language barrier so it is very hard for him to explain everything in detail.

He started me off with circle walking, which I found a but weird because I always read about straight line walking as a starting point, but I've seen it happen. I read a few threads on this section and pretty much he pointed out most of what has been said in Trunk's topics. 

My only concern is the prerequisites.

What do people suggest I do as prerequisites to circle walking? I'm usually there an hour before to do Zhan Zhuang and San Ti. What else should I work on? Should I do straight line walking an hour before?

• Wu Ming Jen said thanks for this

#2 soaring crane

soaring crane

Ready, set, don't go!

• The Dao Bums
  • Pip
  • 5283 posts
  • Interests:Zhan Zhuang
    Fan Huan Gong

Posted 11 November 2015 - 04:00 AM

I think this is something only your teacher can realistically answer for you, no?
  • GreytoWhite said thanks for this
~~~ TheDàoBums' Three Foundations: Eclectic, Egalitarian, Civil ~~~

~~~ "We are each an experiment of one" -- George Sheehan ~~~

~~~ “People say nothing is impossible, but I do nothing every day.” ― A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh ~~~

~~~ “When we try to pick out anything by itself, we find it hitched to everything else in the Universe.” ― John Muir ~~~

#3 sketchbo0k

sketchbo0k

Dao Bum

• The Dao Bums
  • Pip
  • 25 posts

Posted 11 November 2015 - 05:27 AM

As I said, huge language barrier, even if I explain it to him it might not go through. So I just want some info on what other work some people here are doing/have done.

Edited by sketchbo0k, 11 November 2015 - 05:28 AM.

#4 Taoist Texts

Taoist Texts