lazy cloud

wuji and tao

Hello Taobums. I have been enjoying this site from afar.

Many taoist ideas resonnate with me. Many buddhist ideas resonnate with me.

In fact i am interested in all ancient beliefs.

I am a newbie , so please excuse my ignorance :blush:

What distinguishes tao from wuji?

Welcome, Lazy Cloud.

The traditional view I've been taught maintains that tao has manifest and unmanifest aspects, stillness and motion, being and nonbeing. Wuji refers to the unmanifest aspect of tao, tao-in-stillness. This state oscillates into taiji, tao-in-motion, manifestations, phenomena. Taiji (aka yin-yang polarization) proceeds to create all manifestations ("the ten thousand things"). Ten thousand things revert back to the unmanifest after completing the cosmic cycle of Conception, Growth, Fruition, Consummation (aka the four seasons of being). The transformations of being into nonbeing and nonbeing into being are understood as a non-linear, circular, cyclical process, i.e. there is no "before" and "after," no "progress," only "unfolding" and "return," followed by, um, more of the same -- ad infinitum. Wuji to taiji, taiji to bagua, bagua to the 64 cosmic moments (situations or configurations of reality), the 64 situations back to no situations, to wuji. And again. And again...